In the wake of the tragic shooting in Parkland, Florida, many people wonder what will happen with gun laws in the United States. While some states are making changes, others are standing by their guns (pun intended). If you’re curious about Colorado’s stance on firearms, then keep reading. This article will discuss several important facts about gun laws in Colorado that you need to know.
There Is An Age Limit
You must be at least 21 years old to purchase a handgun from a licensed dealer in Colorado. You must also be 21 years old to possess a handgun in public. If you are under the age of 21, you may still be able to own a gun if it is for hunting or target practice purposes.
There Is A Waiting Period
Once you have found the gun, you would like to purchase. There is a waiting period of three days before you can take possession of the firearm. This waiting period gives the state time to conduct a background check on the buyer.
You Need A License To Carry A Concealed Weapon
If you want to carry a concealed weapon in Colorado, you need to obtain a permit from the county sheriff. You must be 21 years old to apply for a concealed carry permit.
You Must Comply With Federal Gun Laws
In addition to state gun laws, you must also comply with federal gun laws. For example, it is illegal to possess a machine gun or sawed-off shotgun. It is also illegal to purchase a firearm from another state if you are not a resident of that state.
Some Guns Are Banned
Many guns are banned in Colorado. For example, it is illegal to possess an assault weapon or a large-capacity magazine. It is also illegal to purchase a gun that has been modified to be automatic.
You Cannot Carry A Gun In Certain Places.
There are many places where you cannot carry a gun in Colorado. These places include schools, government buildings, and hospitals. You also cannot carry a gun on your person if you are under the influence of drugs or alcohol.
You Must Store Your Gun Safely
If you have a gun in your home, you must store it in a safe place where children cannot access it. You must also keep your gun unloaded and locked up when not used. Colorado law requires that all guns be stored in a locked container or disabled with a trigger lock.
To conclude, these are just a few of the gun laws in Colorado that you should be aware of. Please get in touch with your local law enforcement agency for more information. Thanks for reading!